NFL teams announce their 2018 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award nominees

Discussion in 'Planet Sports Center' started by Scorpion, Dec 6, 2018.

  1. Scorpion

    Scorpion Admin Admin

    One of the NFL's most prestigious awards has nothing to do with what players do on the field. In fact, last year's winner barely saw the field at all. The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award goes to the player who does the most for his community. Last year, J.J. Watt took home the award for his role in Hurricane Harvey relief in Houston.

    On Thursday, NFL teams announced their nominees for the award. Each team gets one, and the winner is selected at the NFL Honors awards show at the end of the season.

    Current players who have won the award include J.J. Watt (2017), Eli Manning and Larry Fitzgerald (2016 co-winners), Thomas Davis (2014) and Drew Brees (2006). The previous winners wore a patch of Payton shrouded in a cloak.

    Here's a look at each team's nominee. The list will update as the final teams announce theirs.

    Arizona Cardinals: Antoine Bethea

    Atlanta Falcons: Grady Jarrett

    Baltimore Ravens: Brandon Carr

    Buffalo Bills: Lorenzo Alexander

    Carolina Panthers: Julius Peppers

    Chicago Bears: Trey Burton

    Cincinnati Bengals: Carlos Dunlap

    Cleveland Browns: Christian Kirksey

    Dallas Cowboys: Dak Prescott

    Denver Broncos: Von Miller

    Detroit Lions: Matthew Stafford

    Green Bay Packers: Kenny Clark

    Houston Texans: Whitney Mercilus

    Indianapolis Colts: Jabaal Sheard

    Jacksonville Jaguars: Blake Bortles

    Kansas City Chiefs: Dustin Colquitt

    Los Angeles Chargers: Corey Liuget

    Los Angeles Rams: Andrew Whitworth

    Miami Dolphins: Kenny Stills

    Minnesota Vikings: Kyle Rudolph

    New England Patriots: Devin McCourty

    New Orleans Saints: Mark Ingram

    New York Giants: Michael Thomas

    New York Jets: Kelvin Beachum

    Oakland Raiders: Marshawn Lynch

    Philadelphia Eagles: Chris Long

    Pittsburgh Steelers: Cameron Heyward

    San Francisco 49ers: Robbie Gould

    Seattle Seahawks: K.J. Wright

    Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Gerald McCoy

    Tennessee Titans: Jurrell Casey

    Washington Redskins: Vernon Davis